If you’re a parent who pays child support because your children reside with the other parent, or if you’re considering divorce and you’re certain your children won’t be living with you for the majority of the time, you’re not the only one asking when child support ends in California. Here is the relevant data.
When does California child support end?
When Child Support Ends in California – Divorce Lawyers in Riverside County
In California, the noncustodial parent pays child support until the kid reaches the age of 18; however, there are instances in which the obligation continues. If the child has not completed high school and is still living with the custodial parent, the paying parent must continue to pay child support. In this instance, the duty to pay child support ends when the child turns 19 years old.
What are the child support regulations in California?
Can Child Support Be Cancelled Prematurely?
Under certain conditions, the paying parent may discontinue child support payments prior to the kid’s 18th birthday. These conditions exist when the child:
- Enters the armed forces
- is discharged
Child support: much more than $$
Child support is more than a simple monthly payment. It also consists of medical care (such as medical, dental, and vision care). The majority of child care expenses, including financial obligations, are split 50/50 between the parents, with one parent often having the child for a shorter portion of the month and, in many instances, one parent earning more than the other.
However, both parents are required to support their children financially.
Should Child Support End When The Child Reaches The Appropriate Age?
When does California child support end? – Temecula Divorce Lawyers
Parents can stipulate child support payments for as long as they like (as long as the child is of age or meets one of the other conditions for stopping payments, such as military service or marriage). You can add this in the divorce agreement if you or your spouse are willing to pay child support even while your child is at college.
Due to the fact that California does not require alimony to continue above the age of 18, even for children with special needs, many parents opt to pay alimony for longer durations. Nothing prevents you from doing this if you see it necessary in your situation. It is essential that you both agree to it.
Must You Consent On The Amount Of Support?
Under California law, parents have limited discretion over the amount of child support, unless they wish to pay more than the state’s recommended amount. For instance, they cannot go to court and say, “We’ve agreed that I’ll pay only $100 a month in child support,” and expect the judge to agree. The state has defined rules for how much money a non-custodial parent must pay for child custody, and the court will not stray from those limits absent exceptional circumstances.
If a parent refuses to pay child support, he or she will likely be out of luck. The courts recognize that both parents are responsible for the upkeep of their children.
Who Needs Child Support?
Child support is a monetary amount that helps pay for a child’s expenses. It is a contribution to the family’s common purse that helps sustain the child’s level of living, whether it is used to pay rent or buy groceries for others in the household.